[solved] How to add missing items to Cacti database

Post general support questions here that do not specifically fall into the Linux or Windows categories.

Moderators: Developers, Moderators

alm

[solved] How to add missing items to Cacti database

Post by alm »

Hi, I'm new to MySQL and don't know how to fix this.

I have a Cacti 0.8.6k installation running on Windows (MySQL 4.1.x and PHP 5.2.x) and want to upgrade it to the latest version but when I try this I get the following error messages:

Code: Select all

0.8.6k -> 0.8.7

[Fail] ALTER TABLE `poller_item` ADD INDEX `rrd_next_step`(`rrd_next_step`)

0.8.7b -> 0.8.7c

[Fail] ALTER TABLE `poller_item` MODIFY COLUMN `rrd_next_step` MEDIUMINT(8) NOT NULL DEFAULT '0';

[Fail] ALTER TABLE `poller_item` MODIFY COLUMN `rrd_step` MEDIUMINT(8) UNSIGNED NOT NULL DEFAULT '300';

[Fail] ALTER TABLE `poller_time` MODIFY COLUMN `pid` INT(11) UNSIGNED NOT NULL DEFAULT '0';

[Fail] ALTER TABLE `poller_item` MODIFY COLUMN `rrd_step` MEDIUMINT(8) NOT NULL DEFAULT 300
I have not installed it myself, but it was done by someone else who I cannot consult for this (also to long ago). I think it was originally installed with cacti 0.8.6c because those zips also existed on the server. Checking the database with 'describe poller_item;' shows exactly the items that where created by cacti.sql of version 0.8.6c. Above items are missing and it looks like the upgrade that was done from 0.8.6c to 0.8.6j wasn't completely successful. I upgraded to 0.8.6k, but that did not give any errors.

I also tried to enter the commands manually into mysql, but that does not work either. I use root user so I guess I have complete access to the database.

I have been looking for answers for this on the net and in this forum, but unfortunately I could not find any. :(

If someone could help me on my way I would be grateful.

Thank you!
BSOD2600
Cacti Moderator

Re: How to add missing items to Cacti database (failing upgr

Post by BSOD2600 »