Bandwidth updates

Post general support questions here that do not specifically fall into the Linux or Windows categories.

Moderators: Developers, Moderators

Swordfish

Bandwidth updates

Post by Swordfish »

Hi, I'm new to this, so if there is a post with the answer kindly point me in that direction.

We are using Version 0.8.7a on RHEL Server 5

I can't find the answer to a seemingly obvious issue.

When graphing Interface bits in/out there is a max value discovered in the graph creation. In our case it is 256000.

When upgrading the link recently to 512Kb, I thought it would be easy enough to just re-poll the host via Console|Management|Devices -> '*Create Graphs for this Host' and clicking on the Green Circle.

I have also done this step via the update php script.

This all works fine, but the graph still shows a max of 256Kb.
Looking at Console|Data Sources, I see the interface settings as follows:
Data Source Item Fields [traffic_in] | Maximum Value -> 256000
Data Source Item Fields [traffic_out] | Maximum Value -> 256000

If I update both these to 512000, then all is good and the graph has a max of 512Kb.

Why is this extra step required - or more importantly, is there a way to automate this update?
I have some 80 upgrades (x2 interfaces each) to do and I'm not relishing the idea of clicking through 160 Data Sources.

Thanks, Rob.
gandalf
Developer

Re: Bandwidth updates

Post by gandalf »

Swordfish wrote:Looking at Console|Data Sources, I see the interface settings as follows:
Data Source Item Fields [traffic_in] | Maximum Value -> 256000
Data Source Item Fields [traffic_out] | Maximum Value -> 256000
I really doubt, even if I did not try recently. Cacti is known NOT to update existing rrd files when changing MAX values. You will have to run

Code: Select all

rrdtool tune ... --maximum ...
for each datasource
Reinhard
Swordfish

Post by Swordfish »

Thanks gandalf,